The MOT Test
Just Got Harder

The MOT Test Just Got Harder

On the 20th of May, new defect categories and inspection items were added to the MOT test. Under the new rules, defects can be categorised as minor, major and dangerous. Cars with major and dangerous defects will receive an automatic fail.

The new inspection items that assessors will be looking for include:

  • Obviously underinflated tyres

  • Brake fluid contamination

  • Missing brake pads or discs

  • Smoke of any colour coming from the exhaust (diesel cars only)

  • Evidence that the diesel particulate filter has been tampered with (diesel cars only)

  • If your car fails its MOT test, it is illegal to drive it - unless your current MOT certificate is still valid and no dangerous problems were listed in the MOT. However, if you drive it for any other reason, you can be fined up to £1,000, Thankfully, the majority of the faults identified during an MOT test can be addressed by having your car regularly serviced by a licensed mechanic.

    Call today to speak to one of our specialist team on 0800 0113 444.

    Get in touch today

    Fill in our form for a call back

    Our deals are available in branch or on the phone